The Montessori Training & Research Trust AMI

Montessori Training and Research Trust

The Montessori Training and Research Trust (MTRT) was founded in 1984 for the purpose of furthering the cause of Montessori Education.

The current trustees are:

Padma Shree Begum Bilkees Latif Chair person
Air Marshal E S Lala Member
Dr Sudhir Naik Vice Chairman
Mr Zahid Ali Khan Member
Mr S. C. Jaini Member
Dr Usha Naik Secretary

Past Trustees, included Justice Jagan Mohan Reddy as Chairperson, Mr. J. R. D Tata, Mrs. Kira Banasinska, Dr. H.W Butt, Miss Khursheed Taraporewalla, Mr. Ramakrishna and Mr. Kotwal.

Bharat Ratna, J.R.D Tata was subsequently Chairperson of the Trust followed by Mr. M Ramakrishna Head of Tata Consultancy.

Ms. B.V.S Jayalakhmi joined the Trust as Executive Officer in March 1993 an office she has held ever since. Trained under Mr. Joosten in 1961-62, she was Head Mistress of the Sishu Vihar Montessori School and High School, Andhra Yuvayhi Mandal for 30 years.

Mrs. Shashikala Agarwal works closely with the trust. She is currently the academic consultant for the Model Montessori House of Children run by the Trust. Mrs. Shashikala was trained under Mr. Swamy. She has assisted on several courses under Mr. Swamy, Mrs. Sivaramakrishnana, and Mrs. Lakshmi Krishna Kumar. She has been an examiner for all the courses conducted under MTRT.

Activities of the Trust:

The Trust has till date has conducted fourteen successful Primary Training courses with the candidates receiving international AMI, (Association Montessori International) Primary diplomas.

The Trust runs the Model Montessori House of Children a school for the children between ages of 2 ½ to 6. The Model Montessori House of children was inaugurated on the 29th of July 2010 on Mr. J.R.D Tata's Birth Anniversary. The children are guided by trained, loving, caring and supportive adults.

The Trust in partnership with AMI is the host and organizer of the Primary Training of Trainers Programme, Asian Seminar in Hyderabad.